2015 judging panel for “The Don”

The_Don_Award_Logo Submit NOW through filmfreeway-logo-hires-white-00e3c077ed0c57396bfa3cc5a1880ddb

2015 marks the 2nd official year of “The Don” Award for Best Produced Feature Screenplay.  A small panel of professional judges has been assembled (cue the Thor/Avengers intro music!).  This panel for the 2015 competition will include:

Langley McArol [Founder & Chair] has spent the last 15 years in the film & television industry as an Actor, aspiring screenwriter, and award winning indie filmmaker.  His award winning short, “Superhero” (best short, audience choice, Francis McNally Creativity Award – Reach Out Film Showcase Festival, NY) was produced in 2011 with the support of Don Payne.   Langley’s writing experience includes several honors at Screenplay Festivals including Scriptapalooza, NexTV, and Page Awards.   Langley holds a BFA, and has been named the Chair of “The Don” committee for CFIFF.  IMDB

Tammy Arnold [Panel Judge] has worked in the industry for nearly 30 years as an Actress, Coach, Producer, and Script Analyst for some of the industry’s top Producers & Directors.  Coaching Oscar, Emmy, and Golden Globe Actors, her expertise with breaking down a screenplay to its essential elements makes her the ideal addition to critique the works of the “unknown screenwriter”.  IMDB

Terry Linehan, [Panel Judge] lecturer in UNCW’s Film Studies department since 2000, has taught Screenwriting I and II, Writing for Television, Producing, Introduction to Film Production, and Moviemakers and Scholars. He has been the Internship Director since 2006.  He was Co-Producer of the short, “Two Hours in the Dark,” winning eight film festivals nationwide and named a “Best Short Film of 2010” by Withoutabox.  Terry’s seven short documentary and narrative films have screened at film festivals nationwide and in Europe.  Semifinalist in the Academy Awards Foundation’s Nicholl Fellowships of Screenwriting. He holds a Master’s Degree from UNCW.  IMDB






PREVIOUS Guest Judges were:

2014 – Joel H. Cohen – Writer/Co-Executive Producer, The Simpsons.  He has also worked on Saturday Night Live and Suddenly Susan. He won a WGA award for the episode “Wedding for Disaster“. He is the younger brother of Robert Cohen, who wrote the episode “Flaming Moe’s“.  IMDB

2014 – Carolyn Omine – Writer/Consulting Producer, The Simpsons.  An American television writer.  She has written for Full House, The Parent ‘Hood and The Simpsons. She was credited as an executive producer by the Simpsons’ 17th season, although this changed to a producer in the 18th.  IMDB

Don’t know what proper screenplay format is? Click this image!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s